Skip to main content

Golden Box Office Award

Our Golden Box Office Award, and its French-language equivalent Prix Guichet d’or, recognizes the Canadian director(s) and screenwriter(s) of the Canadian feature film with the highest domestic box-office sales in a calendar year. The selected film must have generated domestic box office of at least $1 million in the previous calendar year.

In a departure from most box-office awards that spotlight producers and distributors, Telefilm recognizes the directing and scriptwriting talent behind these homegrown success stories.

Past winners

  • Director Don McKellar and co-writers Ken Scott and Michael Dowse for
    The Grand Seduction
  • Director Michael Dowse and co-writers Jay Baruchel and Evan Goldberg for Goon (see news release)
  • Director Richard J. Lewis and writer Michael Konyves for Barney's Version
  • Director Vincenzo Natali and co-writer Doug Taylor for Splice
  • Director Mike Clattenburg and co-writers Timm Hannebohm, John Paul Tremblay, Robb Wells and Mike Smith for Trailer Park Boys: Countdown to Liquor Day­


Here you will find the Golden Box Office Award’s eligibility rules.